Home is where you feel at home

fotolia_61465332

I spent the first 26 years of my life living at one place with my parents. Over the last 5 years, I have moved 2 countries and 4 houses, moving to the 5th one soon. Although the journey has been exciting, I often given in to nostalgia about the people and places I left behind with each move.

In a way, you never really leave people behind in today’s super connected world where most people are just a skype call away. But narrating daily events over skype or phone is not the same as living experiences together. Inevitably, interactions with close friends and family (at one point in time) become casual (over time). So while today I have some very good friends and close family members across the world, we all can ‘happily’ live without each other.

For someone like me, who was used to seeing the same neighbours everyday, same family members every weekend and the same set of school and college friends every once in a while, such a transition has been tough. For a long time I missed the home I left behind where things were similar each day and so predictable that living without them was unimaginable.

Recently something has changed. My 2 year old who thrives on a routine expects me to do similar things everyday. She is happy to meet familiar people, repeat her antics endless times and shrieks in excitement when we go to previously visited places. Her happiness to a large extent depends on us and she does not hold back her crocodile tears, smiles and kisses to hide that from us.

I think I finally feel at home, at least at this point in time!

3 thoughts on “Home is where you feel at home”

  1. I just found your blog and love this post. I can totally relate to the emotions that surround a move. We are moving for the 2nd time in 2 weeks, in the last month and a half. It is hard. I think you are absolutely right though, home is where we feel loved and when we are with the people we love. Glad I could find your blog!

    Like

  2. Nice post Ruchi. I have lived and grown up in various different cities and when someone asks where is home; I usually have to think once or twice before replying. The best thing about being on a move is that home really is where your heart is! Loved this post. Following you. http://voices-in-my-head.net/

    Like

Leave a Reply

